Subject Team: T. Mockford, A. Meatyard, S. Hehir, J. Alford, G. Yellop, J. Dibben, R. Simmonds.

Subject aims

Subject aims

  • To create a challenging environment which inspires, engages and raises attainment.
  • To foster a spirit of inquiry by nurturing natural curiosity through relevant, real world, fun science.
  • To provide appropriate learning pathways for students develop the skills needed to be active citizens within an increasingly technological world.
Key Stage 3
The KS3 science curriculum is taught over three years with an emphasis on working scientifically and practical lessons.

There are 19 units in the new curriculum which cover topics from Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Mathematics in Science.

Modules include; Forces, Matter, Reactions, Energy, Electricity & Magnetism, Earth, Organisms, Genes, Ecosystems and Waves.

There is some merging of KS3 and KS4 curricula as students develop their understanding and expertise.

Key Stage 4
Key stage 4 science is taught over 2 years and we follow the AQA Trilogy curriculum.


1. Cell biology

2. Organisation

3. Infection and response

4. Bioenergetics

5. Homeostasis and response

6. Inheritance, variation and evolution

7. Ecology


8. Atomic structure and the periodic table

9. Bonding, structure, and the properties of matter

10. Quantitative chemistry

11. Chemical changes

12. Energy changes

13. The rate and extent of chemical change

14. Organic chemistry

15. Chemical analysis

16. Chemistry of the atmosphere

17. Using resources


18. Energy

19. Electricity

20. Particle model of matter

21. Atomic structure

22. Forces

23. Waves

24. Magnetism and electromagnetism



There are 6 exams: 2 biology, 2 chemistry and 2 physics. Each of the 75 minute papers will assess knowledge and understanding from distinct topic areas through multiple choice, structured, closed short answer, and open response questions.



In addition to AQA trilogy we also currently offer AQA ELC as a Single or Double award. This is a linear qualification whereby students submit all components that will form the assessment at the end of the course.  There are three levels of award available: Entry 1, Entry 2 and Entry 3. Entry 3 is the most demanding.  Again the emphasis is on practical engagement.



Further information

Reading list and useful texts

  • CGP Science Revision Guide & Workbook
    New Scientist
  • OCR Gateway Core Science
  • OCR Gateway Additional Science
  • Will we ever speak dolphin? – New Scientist
  • Does anything eat wasps? – New Scientist
  • Why can’t elephants jump? – New Scientist
  • Why are orang-utans orange? – New Scientist
  • Why don’t penguins’ feet freeze? – New Scientist
  • Do Polar bears’ get lonely? – New Scientist


Subject related web sites